STRiVE – the Quality Assurance Program for Registered Massage Therapists (RMTs) in Ontario that offers flexibility, opportunity and choice!

What is STRiVE?

STRiVE is CMTO’s Quality Assurance (QA) Program and it is designed to fit the individual needs of all RMTs. STRiVE is made up of two parts:

  • Ensuring compliance with the Standards of Practice and Regulations, and
  • Supporting each RMT to be the best they can be!

STRiVE recognizes that an RMT’s abilities evolve over time with focused engagement in continuing professional development that supports lifelong learning and performance improvement.

STRiVE (Year 1)

  • E-learning Module
  • Self-Assessment
  • Learning Plan: Development
  • Experiential Learning Exercise

STRiVE (Year 2)

  • E-Learning Module
  • Self-Assessment (Optional Update)
  • Learning Plan: Interim Progress Report
  • Experiential Learning Exercise

Career-Span Competencies

Understanding that each RMTs career path is unique, the Career-Span Competencies support RMTs in managing their practice.

The Career-Span Competencies are broad and apply to RMTs working in all practice settings including clinics, hospitals home-based practices, spas, educational institutions, research facilities and administration.


The Key Components of STRiVE

E-Learning Module

The E-Learning Module supports RMTs with maintaining currency and provides education on a topic that is relevant to the entire profession. The 2022 E-Learning Module will introduce the risk-based approach to assessment (risk-based assessments will begin in 2023).


The Self-Assessment is the starting point for continuing professional development and performance improvement.

Learning Plan

The Learning Plan defines an RMT's goals and objectives for continuing professional development.

Experiential Learning Exercise

Designed to help RMTs learn about and develop skills in the processes of reflective practice, the Experiential Learning Exercise supports the continual evolution of competence throughout the career span.

Frequently Asked Questions

The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991  requires colleges to have a quality assurance (QA) program that includes:

  • continuing education or professional development;
  • self, peer and practice assessments; and
  • a mechanism for CMTO to monitor RMTs’ participation in, and compliance with, the QA Program.

RMTs who hold a General Certificate on or before August 31 need to complete certain STRiVE requirements.

No. STRiVE is designed to offer flexibility and choice. RMTs are responsible for selecting learning activities that meet their professional development goals.

No. CMTO does not approve training programs offered by continuing professional development providers.


All registrants must submit STRiVE requirements annually, between September and November 30.

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial