Council and Committees



The Council is the governing body of the College. According to the Massage Therapy Act, 1991 and the College by-laws, Council is composed of:

  • Nine Registered Massage Therapists (RMTs) elected by their peers on a geographical or academic basis; and
  • Up to eight public (non RMT) members appointed by the provincial government

Elected members hold office for three years and may stand for re-election twice, for a maximum of nine consecutive years served. Public members generally serve one or two terms or three to six years.

Council members sit on at least one College committee. Each of these has a specific function mandated by the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA). General Council meetings are held at least four times per year at the College office to review the activities of the College and make decisions regarding policy issues.

These meetings are open to all registrants and the public.


To confidentially contact the Council President:


2018 Council Members

Lisa Tucker, RMT, President District 3
Kim Westfall-Connor, RMT, Vice President District 5
Jocelyn Acheson, Executive Officer Public Member
Lloyd White, Executive Officer Public Member
Jennifer Da Ponte, RMT District 6
Nancy Engstrom, RMT District 8
Andrew Flint Public Member
Murthy Ghandikota Public Member
Lesley Hargreaves, RMT District 9
Nevenko Jeftic, RMT District 7
Shannon Marshall, RMT District 4
Debra Mattina Public Member
Hedy Miszuk Public Member
Dawn Oehring, RMT District 2
Karen Sosnowski, RMT District 1


2018 Committees

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee has all the powers of Council between Council meetings with the exception of making, amending, or revoking By-laws or Regulations. The Committee addresses and acts on matters requiring immediate attention between regular meetings of Council. The Committee must report to Council on any decisions taken between regular meetings and must report annually on its activities.

Committee Members

  • Lisa Tucker, RMT, President
  • Kim Westfall-Connor, RMT, Vice President
  • Jocelyn Acheson, Public Member, Executive Officer
  • Lloyd White, Public Member, Executive Officer


Client Relations Committee

The Client Relations Committee is responsible for overseeing programs that encourage a commitment to continuously improving the professional relationship between RMTs and their clients. This includes:

  • Developing related education requirements and guidelines for registrants as they relate to prevention of all forms of abuse;
  • Ensuring measures are in place to prevent and deal with sexual and other forms of client abuse;
  • Promoting public understanding of the College’s abuse prevention plan;
  • Administering a funding program, providing therapy and counselling for those who were sexually abused, while clients, by a College registrant.

Committee Members

  • Lloyd White, Public Member, Chair
  • Nancy Engstrom, RMT
  • Hedy Miszuk, Public Member
  • Laura DiMarco, RMT (non-Council Member)


Discipline Committee

The Discipline Committee is responsible for conducting hearings related to allegations of registrants’ professional misconduct or incompetence.

As part of this process, where appropriate, the Committee makes decisions about revoking or suspending registrants’ Certificates of Registration or imposing other terms and conditions.

Committee Members

  • Kim Westfall-Connor, RMT, Chair
  • Kyle Bonnyman, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Anna Cantalini, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Susan Glass, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Christin Mandalentsis, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • All Council Members


Fitness to Practise Committee

The Fitness to Practise Committee hears matters concerning the physical or mental capacity of a registrant to practise. It makes decisions concerning the registrant’s capacity to practise; and where appropriate, orders revocations or suspensions, or imposes other terms, conditions or limitations on registration certificates.

Committee Members

  • Lesley Hargreaves, RMT, Chair
  • All Council Members


Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee

The Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee (ICRC) oversees investigations, reviews complaints from the public about registrants and determines a course of action in accordance with legislation, including referral to the Discipline Committee for allegations of professional misconduct, incompetence, or incapacity. It is also responsible for keeping the complainant and the registrant informed during this process.

The Committee is required to complete the investigation and make a decision as to the outcome of each complaint within 150 days.

Committee Members

  • Jocelyn Acheson, Public Member
  • Jennifer Da Ponte, RMT
  • Murthy Ghandikota, Public Member
  • Lesley Hargreaves, RMT
  • Shannon Marshall, RMT
  • Debra Mattina, Public Member
  • Hedy Miszuk, Public Member
  • Karen Sosnowski, RMT
  • Laura DiMarco, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Clinton Jack, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Theo Parusis, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Martez Schembri-Diskey, RMT (non-Council Member)


Quality Assurance Committee

The Quality Assurance Committee develops, monitors and reports on the College’s Quality Assurance Program. This includes appointing peer assessors for the program and referring any information regarding a registrant’s potential professional misconduct or incompetence to the ICRC.

Committee Members

  • Nancy Engstrom, RMT
  • Andrew Flint, Public Member
  • Nevenko Jeftic, RMT
  • Lloyd White, Public Member
  • Christin Mandalentsis, RMT (non-Council Member)


Registration Committee

The Registration Committee evaluates internationally educated applicants for admission to the certification examination, as well as other matters, including inactive registrants requesting a return to clinical practice, or applicants for registration who do not meet the criteria for registration set out in legislation. It also reviews requests from the Registrar to impose terms or conditions on a current registrant’s certificate. In fulfilling its mandate, the Registration Committee has a duty to provide registration practices that are transparent, objective, impartial and fair.

Committee Members

  • Murthy Ghandikota, Public Member
  • Dawn Oehring, RMT
  • Karen Sosnowski, RMT
  • Anna Cantalini, RMT (non-Council Member)