Pour de l’assistance ou des renseignements en français, veuillez contacter cmto@cmto.com.

Once you’ve completed a Massage Therapy program, your school will send proof of program completion to Prometric, who is CMTO’s third-party exam provider. Prometric will send you exam registration instructions. Detail such as dates, test centre locations and fees can be found on Prometric’s website. Learn more about the exam registration steps.

You must successfully pass two certification examinations:

  • the Multiple-Choice Question (MCQ) examination; and
  • the Objectively Structured Clinical Evaluation (OSCE).

A minimum scaled score of 70 is required to pass each examination.

MCQ Exam

The MCQ is a computer-based exam consisting of 150 questions and candidates have three hours to complete it. The MCQ can be taken before or after the OSCE.

The MCQ examination is offered in four blocks each year, with the first block in April.


The OSCE is a clinical exam designed to evaluate the candidate’s knowledge and application of skills using clinical scenarios in seven test stations. Candidates have 90 minutes to complete the exam.

The OSCE is offered continually from May to December each year.

Preparing for the Exams

Information about the content and format of the certification exams is provided in the Candidate’s Handbook for Understanding Certification Examinations in Ontario. Candidates must read the Candidate Handbook before taking the certification examinations.

Number of Attempts

Candidates have three attempts to complete the MCQ and three attempts to complete the OSCE. CMTO’s exam regulation requires individuals who fail an exam three times to obtain a new Massage Therapy diploma before taking the exams again. A person who fails the exams three times, obtains a new diploma and then re-applies to take the examinations is treated as a new applicant. View the Examination Candidates Returning after Three Previous Failures Policy.

Impact of COVID-19 on Exams

A person must have successfully completed a recognized Massage Therapy education program no more than three years before the date of their certification examinations. Their education must also be no more than three years old when they apply for initial registration with CMTO. In recognition of the impact the COVID-19 pandemic had on this timeframe, CMTO will grant a one-time extension equivalent to the time lost due to the certification examinations not being administered in 2020. Please review the Education Validity Extension for Certification Examinations and at Initial Registration due to the Impact of COVID-19 document for more information.

Certification Exam Statistics

2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015


Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial