Councils and Committees


The Council is the governing body of the College. According to the Massage Therapy Act, 1991 and the College by-laws, Council is composed of:

  • Nine Registered Massage Therapists (RMTs) elected by their peers on a geographical or academic basis; and
  • Up to eight public (non RMT) members appointed by the provincial government

Elected members hold office for three years and may stand for re-election twice, for a maximum of nine consecutive years served. Public members generally serve one or two terms or three to six years.

Council members sit on at least one College committee. Each of these has a specific function mandated by the RHPA, 1991. General Council meetings are held at least four times per year at the College office to review the activities of the College and make decisions regarding policy issues.

These meetings are open to all registrants and the public.


To confidentially contact the Council President:


2016 Council Members

Lisa Tucker, RMT, President District 3
Lloyd White, Vice President Public member
Karen Sosnowski, RMT, Executive Officer District 1
Jennifer Da Ponte, RMT, Executive Officer District 6
Jocelyn Acheson Public member
Nancy Engstrom, RMT District 8
Lesley Hargreaves, RMT District 9
Murthy Ghandikota Public member
David Janveau, RMT District 2
Robyn Libby, RMT District 4
Hedy Miszuk Public member
Kim Westfall-Connor, RMT District 5
Arpana Vora Public member
Jane Wellwood, RMT District 7
Andrew Flint Public member
TBD Public member

2016 Committees

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee has all the powers of Council between Council meetings with the exception of making, amending, or revoking By-laws or Regulations. The Committee addresses and acts on matters requiring immediate attention between regular meetings of Council. The Committee must report to Council on any decisions taken between regular meetings and must report annually on its activities.

Committee Members

  • Lisa Tucker – President
  • Lloyd White – Vice President
  • Jennifer Da Ponte – Executive Officer
  • Karen Sosnowski – Executive Officer

Client Relations Committee

The Client Relations Committee is responsible for overseeing programs that encourage a commitment to continuously improving the professional relationship between RMTs and their clients. This includes:

  • Developing related education requirements and guidelines for registrants as they relate to prevention of all forms of abuse;
  • Ensuring measures are in place to prevent and deal with sexual and other forms of client abuse;
  • Promoting public understanding of the College’s abuse prevention plan;
  • Administering a funding program, providing therapy and counselling for those who were sexually abused, while clients, by a College registrant.

Committee Members

  • Kim Westfall-­Connor – Chair
  • Anne Dockendorff (Non-Council)
  • Hedy Miszuk – Public Member
  • Arpana Vora – Public Member

Discipline Committee

The Discipline Committee is responsible for conducting hearings related to allegations of registrants’ professional misconduct or incompetence.

As part of this process, where appropriate, the Committee makes decisions about revoking or suspending registrants’ Certificates of Registration or imposing other terms and conditions.

Committee Members

  • Hedy Miszuk – Chair
  • TBD (Non-Council)
  • Brooke Gibson (Non­-Council)
  • All Council members

Fitness to Practise Committee

The Fitness to Practise Committee hears matters concerning the physical or mental capacity of a registrant to practise. It makes decisions concerning the registrant’s capacity to practise; and where appropriate, orders revocations or suspensions, or imposes other terms, conditions or limitations on registration certificates.

Committee Members

  • David Janveau – Chair
  • All Council members

Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee

The Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee (ICR Committee) oversees investigations, reviews complaints from the public about registrants and determines a course of action in accordance with legislation, including referral to the Discipline Committee for allegations of professional misconduct, incompetence, or incapacity. It is also responsible for keeping the complainant and the registrant informed during this process.

The Committee is required to complete the investigation and make a decision as to the outcome of each complaint within 150 days.

Committee Members

  • David Janveau – Chair (Panel A)
  • Deny Brulotte (Non-Council)
  • Anne Dockendorff (Non-Council)
  • Murthy Ghandikota – Public Member
  • Don Robichaud (Non-Council)
  • Lloyd White – Chair (Panel B)
  • Nicole Andrews (Non-Council)
  • Jennifer Da Ponte, RMT
  • Nancy Engstrom, RMT
  • Jocelyn Acheson – Public Member

Quality Assurance Committee

The Quality Assurance Committee develops monitors and reports on the College’s Quality Assurance Programme. This includes appointing peer assessors for the program and referring any information regarding a registrant’s potential professional misconduct or incompetence to the ICR Committee.

Committee Members

  • Jane Wellwood – Chair
  • Murthy Ghandikota – Public Member
  • Brooke Gibson (Non-Council)
  • Robyn Libby, RMT
  • Lloyd White – Public Member


Registration Committee

The Registration Committee evaluates internationally educated applicants for admission to the certification examination, as well as other matters, including inactive registrants requesting a return to clinical practice, or applicants for registration who do not meet the criteria for registration set out in legislation. It also reviews requests from the Registrar to impose terms or conditions on a current registrant’s certificate. In fulfilling its mandate, the Registration Committee has a duty to provide registration practices that are transparent, objective, impartial and fair.

Committee Members

  • Karen Sosnowski – Chair
  • Murthy Ghandikota – Public Member
  • Lesley Hargreaves, RMT
  • Arpana Vora – Public Member
  • TBD (Non-Council)