Council and Committees


The College is run by a Council, similar to a board of directors. Council sets the College’s strategic and policy direction, and makes decisions that protect and promote the public interest. Council is composed of:

  • Nine Registered Massage Therapists (RMTs) elected by their peers on a geographical or academic basis; and
  • Up to eight public (non RMT) members appointed by the Ontario Government.

RMTs may serve on Council for a maximum of nine consecutive years (i.e., three, three-year terms). Public members generally serve one or two terms, or for three to six years.

Council members sit on at least one College committee. Each committee has a specific function as described in the Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 (RHPA).

General Council meetings are held at least four times per year. These meetings are open to the public. View the College’s Governance Handbook to learn more about Council and committees.

To confidentially contact the Council President:

2022 Council Members

Council Member
Sean Adderley, RMT District 1
Suja Biber, RMT District 8
Anna Cantalini, RMT District 6
Lesley Hargreaves, RMT District 9
Sohail Mall Public Member
Christin Mandalentsis, RMT District 3
Jay Mathers Public Member
Dawn Oehring, RMT District 2
Jalpa Patel Public Member
Ravara Van Vliet, RMT District 7
Ian Vining, RMT District 4
Carolyn Watt Public Member
Kim Westfall-Connor, RMT District 5
Lloyd White Public Member

2022 Committees

The Executive Committee has all the powers of Council between Council meetings with the exception of making, amending, or revoking by-laws or regulations. The Committee addresses and acts on matters requiring immediate attention between regular meetings of Council. The Committee must report to Council on any decisions taken between regular meetings and must report annually on its activities.

Committee Members

  • Kim Westfall-Connor, RMT, President
  • Jay Mathers, Public Member, Vice President
  • Christin Mandalentsis, RMT, Executive Officer
  • Carolyn Watt, Public Member, Executive Officer

The Client Relations Committee is responsible for overseeing programs that encourage a commitment to continuously improving the professional relationship between RMTs and their clients. This includes:

  • Developing education requirements and guidelines for RMTs as they relate to prevention of all forms of abuse;
  • Ensuring measures are in place to prevent and deal with sexual and other forms of client abuse;
  • Promoting public understanding of the College’s Sexual Abuse Prevention Plan;
  • Administering a funding program, providing therapy and counselling for those who were sexually abused, while clients, by an RMT.

Committee Members

  • Lloyd White, Public Member, Chair
  • Anna Cantalini, RMT
  • Sohail Mall, Public Member
  • Eric Wu, RMT

The Discipline Committee is responsible for conducting hearings related to allegations of registrants’ professional misconduct or incompetence.

As part of this process, where appropriate, the Committee makes decisions about revoking or suspending registrants’ Certificates of Registration or imposing other terms and conditions.

Committee Members

  • Lesley Hargreaves, RMT, Chair
  • All Council Members
  • Allie Bisset, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Bobbie Flint, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Sarah Kingsbury, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Jim Marinow, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Amy McElroy, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Cindy McNaughton, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Theo Parusis, RMT (non-Council Member)

The Fitness to Practise Committee hears matters concerning the physical or mental capacity of a registrant to practice. It makes decisions concerning the registrant’s capacity to practice; and where appropriate, orders revocations or suspensions, or imposes other terms, conditions or limitations on registration certificates.

Committee Members

  • Lloyd White, Public Member, Chair
  • All Council Members
  • Allie Bisset, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Bobbie Flint, RMT (non-Council Member)

The Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee (ICRC) oversees investigations, reviews complaints from the public about registrants, and determines a course of action in accordance with legislation, including referral to the Discipline Committee for allegations of professional misconduct, incompetence, or incapacity. It is also responsible for keeping the complainant and the registrant informed during this process.

Committee Members

  • Ravara Van Vliet, RMT, Chair
  • Jay Mathers, Public Member
  • Dawn Oehring, RMT
  • Jalpa Patel, Public Member
  • Ian Vining, RMT
  • Carolyn Watt, Public Member
  • Jonathan Chang, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Tammy Contois, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Imelda Garce, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • David Janveau, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Nevenko Jeftic, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Cheryl Lewin, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Elisabeth Mathers, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Alpa Patel, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Karalyn Van Aken, RMT (non-Council Member)

The Quality Assurance Committee develops, monitors and reports on the College’s Quality Assurance Program. This includes appointing peer assessors for the program and referring any information about a registrant’s potential professional misconduct or incompetence to the ICRC.

Committee Members

  • Lloyd White, Public Member, Chair
  • Sandra Cina, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Rebecca Cleaveley, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Jennifer Da Ponte, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Lesley Hargreaves, RMT
  • Jianjiang Li, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Christin Mandalentsis, RMT
  • Jalpa Patel, Public Member
  • Dawn Ricica, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Ashley Van Zelst, RMT (non-Council Member)

The Registration Committee evaluates internationally educated applicants for admission to the certification examination, and matters, including inactive registrants requesting a return to clinical practice, or applicants for registration who do not meet the criteria for registration set out in legislation. It also reviews requests from the Registrar to impose terms or conditions on a current registrant’s certificate. The Registration Committee has a duty to provide registration practices that are transparent, objective, impartial and fair.

Committee Members

  • Sohail Mall, Public Member, Chair
  • Sean Adderley, RMT
  • Suja Biber, RMT
  • James Johnson, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Rossana Rebeccani, RMT (non-Council Member)
  • Eric Wu, RMT (non-Council Member)


Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial